
TITLE 10 PUBLIC SAFETY AND LAW ENFORCEMENT 

CHAPTER 29 LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY 

PART 6  CERTIFICATION BY WAIVER 
 

10.29.6.1 ISSUING AGENCY:  New Mexico Law Enforcement Academy - Training and Recruiting 

Division, Department of Public Safety, 4491 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 

[10-1-97; 10.29.1.1 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.1.1, 7/1/01] 

 

10.29.6.2 SCOPE:  All applicants for police officer certification by waiver of basic training and all law 

enforcement agencies in the state of New Mexico. 

[10-1-97; 10.29.1.2 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.1.2, 7/1/01] 

 

10.29.6.3 STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  NMSA 1978, Section 29-7-10 (Repl. Pamp. 1994), NMSA 1978, 

Section 29-7-4 (Repl. Pamp. 1994), NMSA 1978, Section 29-7-5 (Repl. Pamp. 1994) 

[10-1-97; 10.29.1.3 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.1.3, 7/1/01] 

 

10.29.6.4 DURATION:  Permanent 

[10-1-97; 10.29.1.4 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.1.4, 7/1/01] 

 

10.29.6.5 EFFECTIVE DATE:  July 1, 2012 

[10-1-97; 10.29.1.5 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.1.5, 7/1/01] 

 

10.29.6.6 OBJECTIVE:  The purpose of part 6 is to establish training requirements and eligibility 

standards for police officers and telecommunicators who seek certification by waiver of basic training under NMSA 

19787, Section 29-7-10 (Repl. Pamp. 1994), NMSA 1978 Section 29-7C-6. 

[10-1-97; 10.29.1.6 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.1.6, 7/1/01] 

 

10.29.6.7 DEFINITIONS: [RESERVED] 

  

10.29.6.8 REQUIREMENTS FOR POLICE OFFICERS: 

 A. In order to be eligible for certification by waiver of basic training, such applicants shall be 

required to successfully meet all qualifications for police officer admission as set forth in NMAC 10.29.1.10 A.  

 B.  All applicants must submit the required packet of previous training for determination of eligibility 

into the certification by waiver program. 

 C. Once an applicant has successfully met the aforementioned requirements, the applicant will 

complete one of the following paths to successfully meet the certification requirements: 

1. The applicant’s agency will provide documentation attesting to the applicant’s successful 

completion of the 40-hour biennium training.  The applicant will challenge and successfully pass 

with a minimum score of 70%, on the Law Enforcement Officer’s Certification Examination 

(LEOCE). 

2. If the applicant is unable to complete any of the 40-hour biennium training or did not successfully 

pass the LEOCE, the applicant will attend a 40-hour certification by waiver training program and 

successfully pass the LEOCE. 

D. Applicants will have two (2) opportunities to successfully pass the LEOCE.  If an applicant is 

unable to pass the LEOCE after the two attempts they will be required to attend and pass the basic police officer 

training program. 

E. For the purposes of certification by waiver of previous training, pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 

29-7-10 (Repl. Pamp. 1997), the academy board has adopted the following formula to be applied to individuals who 

have not completed a comparable basic training program: applicants will be given credit for previous certified law 

enforcement experience at the rate of 40 hours per year for each year of service, up to but not to exceed ten (10) 

years, for a total of 400 hours, and the applicant will receive credit for advanced training, up to but not to exceed 400 

hours.  Applicant experience and training must be equivalent to the current minimum standards of training 

curriculum in effect at the time of application, unless such deficiencies are covered in the certification by waiver 

program. 

[11-25-89, 1-30-93, 10-1-97, 1-1-98, 1-1-99, 6-1-99, 12-31-99; 10.29.6.8 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.6.8, 7/1/01; A, 

01/01/04] 



 

10.29.6.9 ELIGIBILITY OF OUT-OF-STATE POLICE OFFICER APPLICANTS: 

 A. In the event a certified officer from another state or duly commissioned officer from a federal 

agency makes application for certification in the state of New Mexico they must meet all qualifications and 

requirements as determined by the director. 

 B. Any applicant who has not been employed as a full-time law enforcement officer for a period not 

exceeding eight (8) years is eligible for the Certification by Waiver process. 

 C. Any applicant who has successfully completed an accredited law enforcement academy from 

another state or federal academy, but has never been certified, must secure a law enforcement position with a 

recognized New Mexico law enforcement agency within three (3) years of academy completion and must meet all 

other qualifications and requirements as determined by the director to be eligible for certification by waiver.  

[1-30-93, 10-1-97, 12-20-99; 10.29.6.9 NMAC - Rn, 10 NMAC 29.6.9, 7/1/01; A, 01/01/04] 

 

10.29.6.10 ELIGIBILITY OF RETIREES:  In the event a retired certified officer who has appropriately 

separated from law enforcement service makes application to obtain or regain New Mexico certification by waiver 

of basic training, such applicants shall satisfy the following requirements. 

 A. Applicant must have graduated from a certified law enforcement academy that was comparable to 

or exceeded the standards of the programs of the New Mexico academy. 

 B. Separation must be under honorable conditions. 

 C. Complete all other conditions required under the current certification by waiver of basic training. 

 D. Complete any other requirements imposed on applicant by sponsoring agency. 

[10.29.6.10 NMAC - N, 07-01-03; A, 02-28-05; A, 11-30-09] 

 

10.29.6.11 REQUIRMENTS FOR ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY POLICE APPLICANTS: 

 A. Qualifying military police must have successfully completed a basic military police course and 

completed a four (4) year enlistment as a military police officer in the United States Army, United States Marine 

Corps, United States Air Force, or United States Navy.  (Persons serving in the United States Coast Guard and DOD 

Police do not meet occupational requirements.) 

 B. Individuals meeting the aforementioned qualifications must have successfully completed basic 

military one of the following military police courses for the military branch they served: 

 U.S. Army  after 9/1/2003 

 U.S. Marine Corps after 9/1/2003 

 U.S. Air Force  after 9/1/2005 

 U.S. Navy  after 9/1/2005 

 C. Military Occupational Specialties or Air Force Career Classifications considered are: 

  1. U.S. Army  95B or 31B 

  2. U.S. Marine Corps 5811 

  3. U.S. Air Force  3PO51 or 3PO91 

  4. U.S. Navy  Master at Arms or NEC 9545 (Completed NAVEDTRA 14137) 

D. Individuals serving in the armed forces who have completed a basic military police course prior to 

the above dates but had had continuous military service in an approved MOS/AFC since completion of the military 

basic course, along with continuing educational courses may be considered.  Applicants meeting this criterion will 

be required to complete Part I packet listing all schools and training to the NMLEA Director for consideration. 

 E. Any of the aforementioned military police applicants must attend the 40 hour certification by 

waiver training course and successfully pass the New Mexico Law Enforcement Certification Examination 

(LEOCE) with a score of 70% or better. 

 F. Applicants currently on active duty status must also submit a notarized letter from their current 

command attesting to their current status, records of any disciplinary actions, and a statement attesting the applicant 

is eligible for a general/honorable discharge. 

 G. Members of the National Guard or Reserves are not eligible for the certification by waiver 

program. 

  

10.29.6.12 REQUIREMENTS FOR PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATOR: 
 A. In order to be eligible for certification by waiver of basic training, such applicants shall be 

required to successfully complete a certification by waiver of previous training program in order to demonstrate 

proficiency.  The training will include the following topics:  human relations; civil law; criminal law; domestic 



violence; NCIC - NMLETS and critical incident management training. The public safety telecommunicator 

certification examination will be administered at the end of the training program.  The applicant will have two (2) 

opportunities to successfully pass the exam.  Two (2) failures of the exam will require the applicant to attend the 

basic public safety telecommunicator training program. 

 B. For the purposes of certification by waiver of previous training, pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 

29-7C-6, the academy board has adopted the following formula to be applied to individuals who have not completed 

a comparable basic training program:  applicants will be given credit for previous public safety telecommunicator 

experience at the rate of 24 hours per year for each year of service, up to but not to exceed five (5) years, for a total 

of 120 hours, and the applicant will receive credit for advanced training, up to but not to exceed 120 hours.  

Applicant experience and training must be equivalent to the current minimum standards of training curriculum in 

effect at the time of application, unless such deficiencies are covered in the certification by waiver program. 

[10.29.6.11 NMAC - N, 01/01/04] 

 

10.29.6.13 ELIGIBILITY OF OUT-OF-STATE PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATOR 

APPLICANTS: 
 A. In the event a certified telecommunicator from another state or a telecommunicator from a federal 

agency makes application for certification in the state of New Mexico they must meet all qualifications and 

requirements as determined by the director. 

 B. Any applicant who has not been employed as a certified telecommunicator for a period in excess 

of eight (8) years must attend the basic public safety telecommunicator training program to become certified. 

 C. Any applicant who has successfully completed an accredited law enforcement academy from 

another state, but has never been certified, must secure a telecommunicator position with a New Mexico public 

safety agency within three (3) years of academy completion and must meet all other qualifications and requirements 

as determined by the director to be eligible for certification by waiver. 

[10.29.6.12 NMAC - N, 01/01/04] 

 

HISTORY OF 10.29.6 NMAC: 
Pre-NMAC History:  The material in this part was derived from that previously filed with the State Records Center 

and Archives under:  NMLEA Rule #C4, Certification By Waiver Of Previous Training Program, filed 10-25-89; 

NMLEA Rule #C4, Certification By Waiver Of Previous Training Program, filed 12-31-92. 

 

History of Repealed Material:  [RESERVED] 

 

 


