Mayor's Committee on Disability

The Mayor's Committee on Disability's purpose is to work with and for people with and without disabilities to ensure access by eliminating physical and attitudinal barriers and improving participation in the Santa Fe community to enrich all. As clarified in City Resolution 2006-151, this advisory Committee:

  • Studies issues of disability regarding City programs, including but not limited to those in the areas of housing, human rights, employment, recreation, and transportation;
  • Advises the Governing Body regarding City programs that provide services to persons with disabilities, including, without limitation, those in the areas of housing, human rights, employment, recreation, and transportation services and access;
  • Recommends short-range and long-range priorities in those areas of housing, human rights, employment, recreation, and transportation services relating to persons with disabilities;
  • Appoints subcommittees to review and comment on preliminary plans of City public works projects such as any new building, any building repair or remodeling that costs more than $25,000, any new park or recreational facility, any improvement to a park or recreational facility that costs more than $25,000, and any new pedestrian construction that costs more than $10,000;
  • Assists the City in community outreach and education and staff training regarding issues of disability; and
  • Cooperates with other City boards and committees, including, without limitation, those in housing, human rights, employment, recreation, and transportation.


The Mayor appoints the nine members of the Mayor's Committee on Disability with the approval of the City Council. The members elect the Chair and Vice-Chair. The Chair appoints sub-committees and sub-committee chairs as needed. One Citizen Advocate also serves on the Committee. Our members are:

  • Aurore Bleck
  • GinaMaria Opalescent
  • Kendra Garcia, Co-Chair
  • Eli Fresquez, Co-Chair
  • Kathlyne Gish, Co-Chair
  • Meriam Jawhar
  • Christopher Pommier
  • Angelique Montoya-Chavez
  • Pam J. Parfitt


The Committee's monthly meetings are open to the public and are held on the 1st Wednesday of each month at 3-5 p.m. via Zoom. Meeting dates, agenda, and information can be accessed at There are always fifteen minutes of every meeting reserved for public comment. 

December 6, 2023

February 7, 2024

March 6, 2024

April 3, 2024

May 1, 2024

June 5, 2024

July 3, 2024

August 7, 2024

September 4, 2024

October 9, 2024

November 6, 2024

December 4, 2024


CommUNITY Day at Santa Fe Plaza

Community day at the SF Plaza

(Guest Larry Lujan), Aurore Bleck, Mary McGinnis, Meriam Jawhar, and Dave McQuarie